Disciplines of Magic

Mages are limited to the kinds of spells they are able to cast. There are five Disciplines of magic in Carnevale: Divinity, Blood Rites, Fateweaving, Runes of Sovereignty, and Wild Magic. If a character has the Discipline (x) keyword, then they can know spells from the discipline listed.

All of the magic Disciplines can be found over the following links.

At the start of the game, before rolling for the Deployment Zone, pick which spells your characters know. Those characters are only allowed to cast those particular spells for the entirety of the game. A character must pick all of their spells from the same Discipline.

A Mage will always know the Cantrip from their chosen Discipline, and that spell does not count towards their maxium number of known spells.

*Spell: The name of the spell.
*Cost: How many Will Points need to be spent to attempt to cast the spell.
*Difficulty: The result needed to score an Ace on the spell’s Magic Roll.
*Effect: What the spell does.